In the News


Historic Win for BCHS Debate Team

Last night marked another historic moment for Bishop Connolly Debate. Varsity negative A team members Anya Costello and Cora Simone secured the varsity league championship win, defeating a talented Bishop Feehan affirmative team. Their victory was the crowning jewel in an undefeated season, with their two-person team going a perfect 10-0—the third Connolly varsity team to achieve such an accomplishment. Their win makes Bishop Connolly one of two teams in the 13-school league spanning Southeastern Massachusetts to have won four varsity championships.

The league championship was one of 11 awards won by Connolly debaters at league finals. Varsity A team members Benjamin Costa, Elizabeth LaCroix, Anya Costello, and Cora Simone were the second-best four-person varsity team out of a field of 26 teams. Costello and Simone also won the award for best two-person negative team, while Costa and LaCroix were fifth-best two-person affirmative team. The Connolly varsity negative B team of Andrea Cadorette and Logan Reis were fourth-best two-person negative team, while the varsity affirmative B team of Henry Keane, Rose Hook, and Isabella Necchi were seventh-best two-person affirmative team. Connolly varsity debaters also won awards as individual speakers. Congratulations to Simone for placing 2nd, Costello for placing 5th, and Reis for placing 6th out of a field of 53 negative speakers. Congratulations also to Costa for placing 8th and LaCroix for placing 10th out of a field of 54 affirmative speakers.

In addition to bringing home numerous league awards, Bishop Connolly debaters also succeeded in winning the St. Aquinas Diocesan Debate Challenge Cup for a second consecutive year. The Aquinas trophy is awarded to the Catholic high school with the best overall debating record.

BCHS faculty member and debate team coach George dos Santos expressed his joy at the team’s historic win: “I am so proud of each and every debater for their eagerness to work, their willingness to sacrifice, and their passionate dedication to the highest standards of excellence. They are true champions and are most deserving of the glory that they enjoy today.”

With 198 awards, four varsity championships, four varsity four-person team awards, two novice championships, one novice four-person team award, and three-time Aquinas trophy recipients in the past 18 years, Bishop Connolly Debate’s pursuit of excellence has transformed the team into a highly-respected institution. This year, the leadership of student captains Benjamin Costa, Elizabeth LaCroix, Anya Costello, and Cora Simone was key in achieving the team’s success. Apart from their own personal example of debating excellence, the captains organized the day-to-day operations of the team and spent countless hours making themselves available to fellow debaters to help them perfect their rhetorical skills.

Bishop Connolly Debate would like to express its appreciation to the judges and assistant coaches for sharing their time and talents in mentoring the team this year: Dr. Donald Mulcare, Samantha DaRocha ’16, Richard McGee ’20, and Christopher Belmore ’18.


top of page